Collaborate with Database guide

Four tabs will display for students in a Database activity:

• View list: a summary of all entries
• View single: details of individual entries
• Search: search for entries by keyword or other filters available
• Add entry: where a new entry can be added to the database

If you selected a Preset when creating your Database activity, students will need to complete the Preset fields.

If you do not select a Preset, you can configure the Database by creating fields or using a template.

1. Open the Database activity which you have created.
2. Select the Fields link on the contextual navigation menu.
3. Open the Create a new field drop-down menu on the right of the page, select the field type you want to use in your database.
4. In the next screen, provide a name and description of the field, then select Save at the bottom right of the page.
   • You also have the option to make the field required by checking Required field.
5. Repeat steps 3and 4 to add additional field(s).

The Text Input field will create a short-text area that is great for names, locations, etc. If you want to include a significant amount of text (eg a biography) then select the Text Area field.

New template for the Add entry page

1. Open the Database activity.
2. Select the Templates link from the contextual navigation menu.
3. Ensure the drop-down menu on the left of the page is displaying Add entry template.
   • This page defines the layout for the Add entry page which will be visible to end users.
4. By default, the name of the fields and the fields are displayed in a two column format, and a list of actions are added at the bottom (marked by ##). 
   • If you want to add the fields using HTML, uncheck the Enable code editor box which is below the template fields.
5. When finished, select Save at the bottom right of the page, beneath the page footer.

New template for Single view page

1. Navigate to the Templates tab.
2. Select Single view template from the drop-down menu on the left of the Templates page.
   • This page defines the layout for the Single view page which will be visible to end users.
3. By default, the name of the fields and the fields are displayed in a two column format, and a list of actions are added at the bottom (marked by ##). 
   • If you want to add the fields using HTML, uncheck the Enable code editor box which is below the template fields.
4. When finished, select Save at the bottom right of the page, beneath the page footer.

New template for List view page

1. Navigate to the Templates tab.
2. Select List view template from the drop-down menu on the left of the Templates page.
   • This page defines the layout for the List view page which will be visible to end users.
3. There are separate interfaces for Header and Repeated entry. For example, if you want to display the List page as a table, the Header will be the column headings and the Repeated entry will be the row inside the table.
   • By default, there is no Header template.
4. For the Repeated entry, the name of the fields and the fields are displayed in a two column format, and a list of actions are added at the bottom (marked by ##).
   • If you want to add the fields using HTML, uncheck the Enable code editor box which is below the template fields.
5. When finished, select Save at the bottom right of the page, beneath the page footer.

To avoid the necessity of always having to create a new Database from scratch, the Database activity has a Presets feature. Presets are ready-made Database templates. You can use an existing preset or create your own, and share it with others.

Download a Database Preset

1. Select the Database activity from which you want to export the Preset.
2. Select Presets from the contextual navigation menu. The Presets page will open.
3. Open the Actions drop-down menu on the right of the page.
4. Choose Export preset.
5. A zip file will download to your computer.

Import a Database preset

1. Select the Database activity to which you want to import the Preset.
2. Select Presets from the contextual navigation menu. The Presets page will open.
3. Open the Actions drop-down menu on the right of the page.
4. Select Import preset.
5. Upload the preset zip file.
6. Select the Import preset and apply button. The Preset will apply to the Database activity.