This page provides an overview of content and user retention for Moodle and the main systems that users access via Moodle including:
Moodle module content is currently accessible for the previous six academic years plus the current academic year. Content are defined as data or files submitted directly to and stored within the Moodle system. This includes Moodle assignment submissions, forum posts, quiz responses, resource files, database entries and wiki entries. For academic year 2023-24, Moodle holds data from 2017-18 on Moodle 3.9. Note that data for the 'old' Moodle system was only retained until September 2018.
Moodle module content excludes content stored on external systems but displayed in Moodle via a plugin - this includes lecture capture recordings, video resources and Turnitin. Please see the relevant sections for information related to retention of assessment data for other systems.
Moodle assessment data including assignment submissions, quiz submissions, grades and feedback are currently retained for six academic years plus the current academic year. Note that grades may be exported and stored in other systems such as SITS.
Moodle assessment data excludes assignment submissions that are stored on external systems but displayed in Moodle via a plugin - this includes videos (Kaltura) and Turnitin. Please see the relevant sections for information related to retention of assessment data for other systems. User management
City has introduced log truncation, this means that Moodle logs beyond the data retention period will be deleted. The retention period was set to 1,000 days on 18th July 2022. This is maintained daily so that only the last 1,000 of days of logs are available.
The Moodle system is hosted by City, University of London on leased servers at ULCC. We currently operate daily backups of both file store and database (around 1am each day) and keep daily backups for a week, weekly backups for a month and monthly backups for a year. The application layer is also backed up and we maintain our code repository on GitHub to enable rapid deployment of releases. Moodle module course content can be backed up by any enrolled Lecturer or category-level Programme Administrator.
Turnitin are contractually obliged to make reasonable attempts to store assignments for up to 180 days after the class end date. A class has a default end date which is typically twelve months from the creation date, or set to the date of the latest post date for the Turnitin assignments in the class.
The expiration length of twelve months was introduced in February 2023. Modules created before this date will still be subject to the old six-month expiration period.
Although Turnitin make every effort to keep papers accessible in perpetuity, in some rare scenarios, papers may become inaccessible. You can download Turnitin assignments for retention by selecting the link to the Turnitin assignment in Moodle and selecting one of the Export options from the Summary tab.
Assignments can also be completely overwritten due to resubmissions, if Turnitin assignments are set up to allow resubmissions until the due date. Additionally, paper deletion requests can be made by the Turnitin Account Administrator (Contact via IT Self Service Portal), regardless of class end dates. Turnitin can permanently delete a paper from their database so that it can no longer be used as a searchable source. For contractual reasons, all requests for paper deletions from the Turnitin database must be submitted in writing by the City's Turnitin Administrator.
City has a licence for all City students. IT do not currently remove students from Turnitin.
If a lecturer has used Turnitin through our Moodle integration and has left City, then it is not possible for the Turnitin administrator to drop that Lecturer from our Turnitin account. This is something that must be done by Turnitin's engineering team. IT will need to provide the name of the lecturer(s) and their Turnitin user ID(s) to Turnitin in order to process that request.
Echo360 delete Lecture Capture recordings that are two years or older on 1st June each year. Please refer to the Lecture Capture Retention Process (below) for further information.
If the system is used for recording of assessed work e.g. presentations and requirements state the recordings should be retained for a period longer than current plus 1 past year, staff are advised to take backups by downloading recordings ahead of 1st June each year.
Current staff are periodically added to the Echo system as users with the role of 'Academic Staff' and should login via their City username, authenticated via the University's LDAP system. When staff leave City, they will be removed from the system. In any case, once their City account has expired they will no longer be able to access the system.
In accordance with the City's policy on Intellectual Property, the copyright in teaching materials and electronic recordings of lectures will normally reside with the University. Staff will be required to assign performance rights in lecture capture recordings to the University, and to waive moral rights, for the purpose of allowing the University to manage recordings without seeking the permission of those appearing in them (for example, to archive, move or delete files).
Students are not routinely given direct access to the Echo system, instead they access via a trusted connection from Moodle.
IT staff may be given administrator rights ('system admin', 'admin', 'scheduler', 'a/v admin' or 'license manager') to be able to administer schedules, recordings, devices and configuration etc.
Taken from Senate Regulations Assessment Regulations 2022/23 (APPENDIX 4 - RECORD AND DISCLOSURE OF ASSESSMENT RESULTS)
| Item(s) | Retention period |
| Coursework coversheets, feedback proforma and examination scripts (all formats): | Current academic year, plus one additional year |
| Records documenting marks Awarded for submitted/completed assessments, as presented to the Assessment Board, including details of the consideration of Extenuating Circumstances and academic misconduct | Current academic year, plus six further academic years. |
| Records of appeals panels and decisions | Current academic year, plus six further academic years. |
| Records documenting Awards, classifications, individual Modules and assessment components |
Current academic year, plus six further academic years. |
At the end of the period of retention, retained work and the records of marks will be disposed of confidentially.
