Skip to Main Content

Manage your content guide

Overview of how to manage your module content; including how to create a guided path through your content.

About Recycle bin

The Recycle bin allows lecturers and course officers enrolled on a module to retrieve content that has been mistakenly deleted for up to 7 days after they were deleted. Each user with a staff role can retrieve an item deleted by another lecturer/administrator on the module.

Section names and summaries are not available to restore from the Recycle Bin.

We cannot guarantee that all content deleted is retrievable via the Recycle bin function. Any assignments submitted to a submission point which is then deleted may not be able to be retrieved.

Delete redundant content

If you no longer need a resource/activity on your module page you can choose to delete it.

  1. Turn Edit mode on.Edit menu open and Delete highlighted
  2. Open the section where content is located.
  3. Select the three dots to the right of  the resource/activity that you want to delete. Select Delete.

If you accidentally delete content, you may be able to restore this by using the Recycle bin function.

Retrieve content from Recycle bin

When you delete a resource/activity from your module, the system will ask you to confirm deletion.

If you select Yes, the deleted activity or resource will remain in the Recycle bin for 7 days.More menu opened and recycle bin highlighted

To retrieve an item from the Recycle bin:

  1. From the contextual navigation menu above the module name, select More.
  2. Select Recycle bin.

 

  1. You will be able to view and restore all the items deleted in the past 7 days.
  2. Select the Restore icon next to the activity or resource that you want to restore.

    Restore icon highlighted alongside file tittle Presentation 19 June 2023

  3. A notification displays that the content was successfully restored.
  4. Select Module on the contextual navigation menu to return to the module page. Confirm that the content has restored to the right location.

You can also delete content permanently so that it is not retrievable during the 7 day period. With the Recycle bin opened, select the Delete icon alongside the relevant resource. A confirmation message will display. If you are sure you want to permanently delete the file, select Yes. Select Cancel to cancel the deletion request.

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License